Baking · breakfast · chickens · Dinner · eggs · family · farm · Food · garden · health · recipe · vegetable

Quiche

My oven crapped out this morning! Big Bang, then no heat. Sad moment, I love cooking with the oven. Dad says he’ll try to fix it when he gets home from work, if not I guess we know what we’re getting for an early Christmas present! It didn’t come as a surprise, it has been giving me problems for awhile but I was working around them.

Well at least yesterday I had a chance to make a delicious quiche with it.  Or as my three year old calls it ‘egg pie’.  I used the eggs right out of the chicken coop, (usually I rotate them but every once in awhile I splurge and use that days eggs) then added some red onion from the garden, some garlic, mushrooms, tomatoes and red pepper, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. We didn’t have any cheese so I made it without, didn’t miss it at all!

I made my own crust but store bought makes for a quick easy meal too.

Prebake your crust for about 10 minutes at 400

Then fill with whatever you want really, I used 7 eggs plus the veggies and seasonings, and bake at 400 for about 50 minutes

If you want to make your own crust:

Combine in food processor

1/2 cup cold butter
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup cold water
1 tspn brown sugar

Remove from processor and push dough together trying not to overwork it. Then on floured surface roll it out to fit pan, then place dough in pan into the fridge to rest and chill.

One thought on “Quiche

Leave a comment