Baking · cooking · Dinner · farm · Food · garden · grow · health · herbs · recipe

Rainy Day Cooking

It has been pouring rain all day, even the chickens who don’t mind the rain retired into their coop. I thought about weeding the garden in the rain cause I’m crazy like that and it is really a never ending project, but decided to spend the day in the kitchen playing around instead.

I thought we would have soccer tonight for my seven year old but with the weather like this I think they are going to cancel, boo, his last game of the season. Anyhow my plan was to make something quick and easy so Chana Masala it is! This is a recipe from my favorite cook book and if you enjoy Indian food but are no good good at cooking it (like me), this is the cook book for you. The ingredients and directions are simple and tasty, and it’s the only way I’ve ever had success at making Indian food!  I am excited that I got to use the cilantro from the garden today!  Only difference is I added spinach because the spinach in the garden is growing like crazy, and I doubled the recipe so there is enough for all of my Hangry monsters!

 

 

Since I had time to play around in the kitchen this afternoon I also made some naan bread to go with dinner. It is from a recipe off of allrecipes called Naan by Mic. I’ve been making this recipe for years and it’s awesome. I’ll list it below for you for quick reference:

 

And for dessert my wonderful neighbor brought me some more rhubarb so I am making rhubarb crisp, and this time I remembered to buy vanilla ice cream for it! You can find my recipe for it on this previous blog post of mine: https://feedinghangrymonsters.com/2017/05/31/rhubarb-crumble/

 

Naan bread:

In stand mixer combine:

1 cup warm water
1/4 cup sugar
2 tspn dry active yeast (or one package)
Let it get frothy

Add:
3 tbsp milk
1 egg beaten
2 tspn salt
4 1/2 cups flour
Mix into soft dough

Remove and kneed for a few minutes the. Place in a lightly greased bowl and cover with a damp cloth, let rise for about an hour

Punch down dough and kneed in 2-3 cloves of minced garlic

Roll into golf size balls, cover and let rise for 30 minutes

Roll out flat and fry in pan with butter, flip when they start to get air pockets on top.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Rainy Day Cooking

  1. Yay! Indian recipes!! Loved the idea of using spinach with Chana! I’m sure it must’ve tasted delicious 🙂 Let me know if you ever need any help with Indian recipes, I’m an Indian girl and I love to cook 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You could try stuffed eggplants/aubergines. It is a delicious recipe, hot, sweet and tangy! And extremely easy to make if you have all the ingredients.

        Take 1 or 2 roughly chopped onions, 8-12 garlic cloves, 10-20 grams of jaggery, chilli powder ( 3/4th teaspoon), the juice of about 10 grams of tamarind, 1 and 1/2 tablespoonfuls of coconut (dessicated or freshly grated, both will do), 1/2 to 3/4th teaspoonful of Garam masala powder, salt to taste.
        Mix all of these together and blend them in a mixer grinder, adding a little water if necessary.
        Take 6 (lemon sized preferred) aubergines, remove the stem and give vertical cuts, not all the way.
        Try to stuff the blended paste into each.

        Heat 1-2 tablespoonfuls of oil in a pan, add your stuffed aubergines and the remaining paste to it. Gently mix and let it cook covered on low to medium heat for 20-30 minutes. Garnish with chopped cilantro 🙂

        You can use 1 or 2 tomatoes instead of the tamarind juice and half a teaspoon of sugar instead of jaggery.
        This can be eaten with the naan bread you made for your chana masala 🙂
        This recipe serves 2 people, you can increase the ingredients according to need 🙂
        Let me know whenever you make it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment